2019 edition


Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP) is an initiative of Poets in Nigeria (PIN) aimed at stimulating literary creativity, promoting literary excellence and encouraging critical thinking among Nigerian undergraduates. Since inception in 2016 at the University of Ibadan, the prize has received over 1500 entries from students representing over 100 tertiary institutions (including universities, polytechnics, colleges of education, schools of nursing and seminary schools).

Reputed to be the foremost poetry prize for Nigerian students, the NSPP has been hosted by institutions such as University of Nigeria, Nsukka (2017) and Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu (2018). As host of the fourth edition of the prize, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa, will be the venue for the NSPP awards ceremony slated for mid-2019.

Previous grand prize winners of the prize include Noah Oladele (Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife; 2016), Bakre Fadil Adedamola (University of Ibadan; 2017) and Godstime Tamunofiri Iberiyenari (Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa; 2018).

Aside rewarding the prize winners (top three entrants) with a total cash prize of ₦300,000, the top 100 entrants will each receive a certificate of excellence and complimentary copy of the NSPP anthology which features their works.

1st Prize – ₦150,000
2nd Prize – ₦100,000
3rd Prize – ₦50,000

Denja Abdullahi (President, Association of Nigerian Authors), Prof. Akachi Ezeigbo (Joint Winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literature; 2007) and Ismail Bala (literary critic and lecturer, Bayero University, Kano) chaired the judging panel for the 2016, 2017 and 2018 editions of the prize respectively.

The fourth edition of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP) opens to submission between 15th January and 18th March, 2019. Interested Nigerian undergraduates are expected to submit a 30-line poem on any theme of their choice before the deadline.


  1. Open to all Nigerian undergraduates studying in Nigeria and the diaspora.
  2. Entrants must be from a recognized tertiary institution.


  1. Submissions are to be made at , with strict adherence to the instructions thereon.
  2. Poems must be original, intellectual property of the entrants.
  3. An entrant is entitled to a single entry of 30 lines maximum.
  4. There are no fixed themes. Entrants can write on any relevant theme.
  5. Entries submitted must be previously unpublished. A submission discovered to have defaulted on this rule will be automatically voided (inclusive of winners).
  6. All entrants are expected to purchase a minimum of one of the three NSPP anthologies uploaded on the submission portal.
  7. Under no condition will the judges’ decision be challenged.
  8. Entering for the contest gives PIN automatic right to make use of entries as deemed appropriate.
  9. Entries must be written in English. Native terminologies must be translated in English as footnotes.
  10. Entrants should subscribe to for regular updates.

Submission Deadline: 18th March, 2019

Apply Here


This literary and creative initiative to help young poets to improve their skills and have opportunities to win prizes is a wonderful idea which is already making an impact. The youths in Nigeria are looking for role models and mentors to bring out the best in them. The organizers of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP) are providing this service to our teaming population of students in tertiary institutions. I am proud to identify with the team. Indeed, I am pleased to be appointed the Chief Judge for the 2017 edition of the competition.

– Prof. Akachi Ezeigbo

Joint Winner, The Nigeria Prize for Literature (2007)
Chief Judge, NSPP 2017

The competition is a good initiative in popularizing the writing and reading of poetry among students. The array of judges is impressive and that clearly shows that the best poems which will be isolated for special recognition must really be poems that have succeeded on all counts.

– Denja Abdullahi

President, Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA)
Chief Judge, NSPP 2016

Heartfelt congratulations to all entrants. It was a true pleasure to know that poetry is alive to this extent in the hands of the new generation. Thank you, dear NSPP for including me in this precious endeavor.

– Dr. Hülya N. Yılmaz

Director of Editing Services at Inner Child Press (USA)
Member, NSPP 2018 Judging Panel

As a poet, it is very interesting to see young people taking poetry seriously, as is evidenced by the entries into the 2017 NSPP. The quality of the verses and the variety of themes warmed my heart, so much that judging the poems was a rewarding exercise. One can only wish more organizations and individuals will take the promotion of literature as serious as the organizers of the NSPP because encouraging youth to express creatively is of great social importance.

– Kukogho Iruesiri Samson

CEO, Words Rhymes & Rhythm Limited
Winner, GTB Dusty Manuscript Contest 2018

Past Grand Prize Winners

Noah Oladele
(Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife)
Winner, NSPP 2016

Bakre Fadil Adedamola
(University of Ibadan)
Winner, NSPP 2017

Godstime Tamunofiri Iberiyenari
(Niger Delta University, Yenagoa)
Winner, NSPP 2018


Niger Delta University